The Mission of the Tennessee Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission

The Tennessee Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission was created to lead the state's efforts in commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Civil War. Governor Bredesen appointed the 24 members of the Commission including Civil War scholars, professors, state historian, state legislators, and tourism professionals.

The goal of the Commission is to educate the public, promote the commemoration, and preserve the lands and legacies of the Civil War, by engaging individuals and communities in an accurate and inclusive portrayal of Tennessee's contributions to the Civil War. During the multi-year commemoration, the Commission's goal is to bring about an understanding of the past to improve relations in the present and leave a lasting legacy for the future. Our mission is to lead a state effort to promote, fund and preserve the complete story of Tennessee's Civil War and its legacy. Click to learn more about the Commission's Action Plan.

For press related inquiries, contact Cindy Dupree, Director of Communications, TDTD. For information about Tennessee's Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission or Tennessee's Civil War Trails Program, contact Patricia Gray, Research Development Coordinator, TDTD, 615-741-9004 or Lee Curtis, Director of Program Development, TDTD at 615-741-9045

How Can I Get Involved?

  • Ask a question. Contact Patricia Gray, Research Development Coordinator, TDTD.
  • Purchase the Sesquicentennial Civil War License Plate online.
Susan Whitaker, Chair
Title: Commissioner
Phone: 615-741-9001
Email: Susan.Whitaker@tn.gov
Organization: Tennessee Department of Tourist Development
Dr. Carroll Van West, Co-Chair
Title: Tennessee State Historian
Phone: 615-898-2947
Email: cwest@mtsu.edu
Organization: Executive Director of the Center for Historic Preservation, MTSU; Tennessee Civil War National Heritage Area
Ann Toplovich
Title: Executive Director
Phone: 615-741-8934
Email: atop@tennesseehistory.org
Organization: Tennessee Historical Society
Bill Radcliffe
Title: Military Affairs Committee Head
Email: normhill1@msn.com
Organization: 13th U.S. Colored Troops Infantry re-enactors
Dr. Michael R. Bradley
Title: Professor Emeritus
Email: michaelrbradley@lighttube.net
Organization: Sons of Confederate Veterans
Dr. Reavis Mitchell
Title: Division Chair/Director
Phone: 615-329-8610
Email: rmitchel@fisk.edu
Organization: Department of History, Fisk University
Dr. Wayne Moore
Title: Assistant State Archivist
Phone: 615-253-3458
Email: Wayne.Moore@tn.gov
Organization: Tennessee Library and Archives
Elaine Turner
Title: President, Heritage Tours
Phone: 901-527-3427
Email: heritagetours@bellsouth.net
Organization: Manager, Slave Haven Underground Museum
Fred Prouty
Title: Director of Programs
Phone: 615-532-1550
Email: Fred.Prouty@tn.gov
Organization: Tennessee Wars Commission
Jeremy Harrell
Phone: 615-476-4853
Email: harrell.js@gmail.com
Laura Holder
Title: Manager
Phone: 615-898-2947
Email: lholder@mtsu.edu
Organization: Tennessee Civil War National Heritage Area
Lee Curtis
Title: Director of Program Development / Legislative Liaison
Phone: 615-741-9045
Email: Lee.Curtis@tn.gov
Organization: Department of Tourist Development
Lisa Oakley
Title: Curator of Education
Phone: 865-215-8824
Email: oakley@eastTNhistory.org
Organization: East Tennessee Historical Society
Lois Riggins-Ezzell
Title: Executive Director
Phone: 615-741-2692
Email: Lois.Riggins-Ezzell@tn.gov
Organization: Tennessee State Museum
Mary Ann Peckham
Title: Executive Director
Phone: 404-550-5092
Email: mapeckham@aol.com
Organization: Tennessee Civil War Preservation Association
Michael Grainger
Title: Board Member
Phone: 615-771-7785
Email: mjgrainger@cox.net
Organization: Civil War Preservation Trust
Norman Hill
Title: MIddle Tennessee Representative
Phone: 615-337-6219
Email: normhill1@msn.com
Organization: Tennessee Historic Commission
Patrice H. Glass
Title: Executive Director
Phone: (423) 648-5623
Email: friendsofchch@gmail.com
Organization: Friends of Chickamauga and Chattanooga National Military Park
Patrick McIntyre
Title: Executive Director
Phone: 615-532-1550
Email: Patrick.McIntyre@tn.gov
Organization: Tennessee Historical Commission
Rep. Steve McDaniel
Title: State Representative
Phone: 615-741-0750
Email: stevemcdanielrep@bellsouth.net
Organization: Tennessee State Legislature
Representative Joe Armstrong
Title: State Representative
Phone: 615-741-0768
Email: rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
Organization: House of Representatives
Robert Hicks
Title: Historian and Author, Widow of the South
Phone: 615-790-0395
Email: robthicks@aol.com
Sen. Bill Ketron
Title: State Senator
Phone: 615-741-6853
Email: Sen.Bill.Ketron@capitol.tn.gov