Address and Phone:
39 S. Main St.
Crossville, TN 38555
Phone: (931) 787-1324
The Native Stone Museum, built in 1936, is as unique as it is unusual looking. Constructed of Crab Orchard stone--which is only found in Cumberland County, Tennessee--the museum is open to the public and has a small gift shop. Listed on the National Register of Historic Properties and previously housing Tennessee Highway Patrol Building in downtown Crossville, the gift shop and stone museum are dedicated to local stone industry history.
The Crab Orchard Stone company built the building to demonstrate the various ways Crab Orchard Stone could be used as a building material. Crab Orchard stone gained popularity in the 1920s when it
was used in the construction of Scarritt College (now known as
Scarritt-Bennett Center) in Nashville. Commercial quarrying of Crab Orchard stone facilitated its use in government buildings, schools and churches in every state in the USA and many foreign countries.
Get turn-by-turn direction using the interactive map above.
Looking for a day of fun and frolic? Here's a quick list of nearby attractions that you may enjoy.